Georgia's blog

Education makes a nation

leave a comment »

One week after the march to defend education.

I have to admit that I had my doubts if by marching I would change anything at all. But then I read all those twits of people coming down from Scotland and Northern Ireland and all over England and Wales just to be there, just to show that what is happening is NOT alright and I felt ashamed of my second thoughts. What I saw was heartbreaking: students, academic staff, parents with children and old people, they were all there; peacefully and determined to show that if education is harmed the downfall of a nation is next to follow.

“I marched with the 50,ooo not the 200”. And I was so touched that in that crowd I still kept bumping into students and academics from UCL, SOAS, King’s College, SAS. Yes, Mr. Cameron, WE are all in THIS together. What I saw and read in the news afterwards was disgusting. Nobody mentioned what the 50,000 were there for, the power of their presence. I couldn’t find a single newspaper that showed the truth and therefore I could trust to read after that. The only hope in the midst of this new media fascism is twitter and blogging. It presupposes however that one has the time and is determined to find out what is really happening out there.

See for yourself:

London Boroughs decided to close down public libraries in order to save money. Till recently I thought I could read that only in an end-of-the-world scenario science fiction novel. It seems however that the price that has to be paid in order to wash away the mess that (b)ankers made in this country, is education cuts and closing down libraries. Welcome to the future; you can check out any time you like, but you can never leave.

Leave a Reply

